This Week’s Veggie Recipes

So after a lovely three week Christmas break indulging in rich, yummy food (my Mum goes all out on food at Christmas – it’s the best), I returned to uni on the 3rd Jan and made a pact with my flatmate to cut down the carbs and cut out the meat (and also make sure we hit the gym at least 3/4 times a week)! So far so good! I am enjoying experimenting with foods I’ve never cooked with before and seeing how cheaply I can make scrumptious vegetarian meals.

12666430_1143088975731262_476101204_n

We’ll start with breakfast! This week I bought Asda‘s own brand wheat bisks because they are sooo cheap – they’re extremely plain on their own so I decided to jazz them up a bit! I broke the bisks up and added a few tablespoons of Alpro plain soya yoghurt. I then sprinkled over some cashew nuts and chopped apricot and finished it off by drizzling over a small teaspoon of clear honey! Yum!

12674176_1143879132318913_449528910_n

For lunch this week I have been mostly eating soup! I had half a bag of new potatoes to use up so I decided to make leek and potato soup!
To make this particular recipe, you will need:

  • Roughly half a small bag of new potatoes
  • One large leek chopped into discs
  • One cube of vegetable stock
  • Alpro plain soya yoghurt (other plain yoghurts will work too, or milk)
  • Salt and pepper
  1. Firstly chop the potatoes in half and place in a saucepan of boiling water that just covers the potatoes
  2. Once the potatoes start sliding off a fork easily (this means they are cooked) add the chopped leek
  3. Once the leek goes soft, add the cube of vegetable stock to the pan and stir in
  4. Take the pan off the hob (don’t drain the water) and using a hand-held blender, blend the vegetables until smooth
  5. Add more water if required to make the soup into more of a liquid and then add a few generous tablespoons of plain yoghurt and stir in
  6. To finish add salt and pepper

12650682_1143879122318914_2044402407_n

Β 

One of my flatmate’s parents are from Sri Lanka and he always gets given the most delicious homemade curries fromΒ his Mum! Jealous! So recently I have been craving curry and decided to give a new recipe a try. I made enough for about 2/3 meals depending on portion size.
To make this curry you will need:

  • Sunflower oil
  • 380g of original tofu (I used Cauldron)
  • Korma curry paste
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • 1 handful of chopped cashew nuts
  • Alpro plain soya yoghurt (other plain yoghurts will work, or coconut milk)
  • 125g microwave rice (I used Sainsbury’s own brand lime and coriander rice)
  1. Firstly drain the tofu and squeeze out any additional liquid – then cut into small cubes
  2. Place into a pan and fry in a dribble of sunflower oil for about 6 minutes
  3. Then add chopped tomatoes and a few large tablespoons of korma curry paste and stir together
  4. When the mixture starts to bubble add in spinach and cashew nuts and cook for a further couple of minutes
  5. To finish stir in a few tablespoons of plain yoghurt until the curry is creamy enough for your taste
  6. Serve with microwave rice (normal rice is fine just not as quick!)

So there you have it! Some new recipes to try out and they are all quick, cheap and yummy!
I have enjoyed sharing my food with my flat this week by giving them a little taste of everything. We use dinner as a time to come together and catch up after our busy days at lectures, placements and societies! It’s also great to share cheap and easy ways of eating/cooking with each other to make all our lives easier!

Feel free to ask me any questions, I will do my best to answer!
For now, I hope you all have a great Saturday and use it as a chance to kick back and relax. Speak to you soon x

Leave a Reply

